PSYCHOMETRIKA—VOL. 78, NO. 1, 202–204

January 2013

DOI: 10.1007/s11336-012-9280-6

MINUTES OF THE PSYCHOMETRIC SOCIETY BUSINESS MEETING CORNHUSKER HOTEL LINCOLN, NEBRASKA JULY 12, 2012

Mark Wilson called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM. Twenty-four members of the Society were present.

Minutes from the 2011 Business Meeting that were published in the March, 2011 issue of *Psychometrika* were approved without modification.

Luz Bay presented the report of the Membership Committee. She nominated 76 individuals for regular membership into the Society. A motion to accept these individuals for regular membership was passed.

New Regular Members

Russell Almond	Xinming An	Bill Auty	Wicher Bergsma
Gavin T.L. Brown	Linda Callenholm	Christine Chan	Fang-Chung Chang
Po-Hsi Chen	Chia-cheng Chen	Ying-yao Cheng	Shyh-ching Chi
Michelle Cowley	Marcel Croon	Tukur Dahiru	Clemens Draxler
Amanda Fairchild	Xiaoling Fan	Edward Freeman	Tze-ho Fung
Dorinda J. Gallant	Christelle Garrouste	Tiziano Gomiero	Matthew Grady
Bonnie A. Green	Luo Guanzhong	Brent Dale Hill	Yaling Hou
Pei-Jung Hsieh	Tsai-Wei Huang	Yan Huo	Stephanie Isbell
Ning Jianhui	Wagner Kamakura	Michael Kane	Ahmad Z. Khairani
Vincent Kieftenbeld	Iain Kusel	Man Kwok	Luc Le
Jennifer Leal	Yen Lee	Taehun Lee	Wei-Chun Li
Jooseop Lim	Jingchen Liu	Su-fen Liu	Wei-ming Luh
Phillip Mangos	Jamie Marincic	Leah W. McGuire	Rob Meijer
Andrej Mentel	Stefan H. Meyer	Michelle Mychajlowskyj	Shigekazu Nakagawa
Markus Nussbaum	Taichi Okumura	Mohan Dev Pant	Joshua Priddy
Zhang Quan	John Zhang Quan	Gomez Rapson	Annemarie Scholten
Jan Serroyen	Shu Chuan Shih	Ziv Shkedy	Dan Simovici
Emily Smalter	Marlon Sukal	Christopher M. Swoboda	Hak Ping Tam
Frans E.S. Tan	Jian Tao	Anne Thissen-Roe	Catherine Trapani
Zhenlin Wang	Richard White	John H. Whitehouse	Joseph Wu
Pei-Chen Wu	Ruilin Wu	Zhong'en Xi	Yen-Wen Yang
Yongwei Yang	Zhiming Yang	Han-Dau Yau	Myeongsun Yoon
Haifeng Zhang	Lijin Zhang	Shumei Zhang	Yiping Zhang
Jiarong Zhao	Jinxin Zhu		

New Student Members

Stephen Aichele Kirstie L. Bash In-Hee Choi James Clifton Phyllis S. Fowlkes Joe Grochowalski Robert Hoy Christy Jenkins Jonathan Lehrfeld Thomas McCoy Twanette Nel Charlotte Pashley Robin Rostorfer Jessica Stacey Anna Topczewski Warren E. Wyrostek Chunmei Zheng

David L. Albright Pascal Bessonneau Jiwon Choi Frank Cowie Yin Fu Krisitn Hall Jiangang Huang Zijun Ke Houston F. Lester Scott Monroe Tomohiro Ohtani Carel F.W. Peeters Jonathan Rubright Leeza A. Struwe Zijian Gerald Wang Jing-Ru Xu

Ann Arthur Jianshen Chen Youn-Jeng Choi Jacob Doss Mark P. Fusco Ian Hembry Tyler Hunt Justin Kern Lisa Lim Margo R. Moore Oscar L. Olvera Raylene Potter John Short Robin Havens Tate Sue Wiggins Naoto Yamashita

Grayson Baird Lai Hok Chio Richard S. Clements Jon Ferguson Joshua C. Gandi Michaela Hoffman Kristin Javaras Michelle LaMar Cristina Mauro Alex Mutebi Pieter R. Oosterwijk Emilie Rausch Svetlin Spasov Adela Timmons Frank Williams **Brandon Young**

Emeritus Members

Elizabeth Betemps Elliot Cramer

Luz gave the Treasurer's report. She noted that the Society's finances have significantly improved over the last couple of years. She noted that the starting cash on hand as of January 1, 2010 was \$428,757.82. As of June 30, 2011 we had \$88,961.00 in total income and \$74,241.81 in total disbursements and thus our current cash on hand is \$462,429.05.

Roger Millsap gave the Editorial Council report. A total of 146 new manuscripts were submitted to *Psychometrika* so far in 2011–2012. This figure compares to 135 during 2009–2010 and 144 for 2010–2011. Our ARCS submission rate was up this year, with 64 manuscripts this year compared to 27 last year. Considering the entire decision pool to date for 2011–2012 (both new and revised), decisions were made on 223 manuscripts. Of the 223 manuscripts, 44 were accepted, 36 were conditionally accepted, 65 were given a revise and resubmit decision, and 78 were rejected. During the 2010–2011 year, the median total processing time for accepted manuscripts was around five months. The impact factor for *Psychometrika* has remained relatively constant at 1.772 and the five-year impact factor was 1.769.

Roger also noted that the contract with Springer is expiring in 2014 and that a committee should be appointed to begin negotiations with Springer.

Two new initiatives were also described by Roger. One is to solicit papers from IMPS 2012 to create a Proceedings volume. Papers would be reviewed by a committee of four editors, headed by Roger. A second new initiative is to look into the possibility of a *Psychometric Society Book* series. At this stage members will be solicited to determine the level of interest in such a series.

Mark talked about the Board of Trustees meeting. At this meeting the main discussion focused on going with a management group to help set up our annual meetings as well as monitor our website and handle membership. The proposals from three management companies were reviewed. After some discussion the BoT agreed to have a two-year trial period with The Rees Group. Initially TRG would help us with membership, mailings and website monitoring. Eventually the goal would be to have TRG help the Society in setting up annual meetings including registration at those meetings.

Terry reported on the spring election results. Our new president-elect is Albert Maydeu Olivares. Jee Seon Kim was elected to the Editorial Council and the two newly elected Trustees are Marieke Timmerman and Sophia Rabe Hesketh. Note that Editorial Council members serve a six-year term and Board of Trustees members serve a three-year term.

Ralph de Ayala reported on the IMPS 2012 Lincoln Meeting. Participants came from 15 countries. In all there were 149 papers and 50 posters presented, including three workshops, two key-note speakers, six state-of-the-art speakers, five invited presentations and seven invited symposia.

The 2013 meeting is slated to be held in Arnhem, The Netherlands, with Anton Beguin of CITO being the local host. The meeting dates are in the process of being determined.

It was also approved by the Board to have IMPS 2014 at the University of Wisconsin in Madison, Wisconsin. Local hosts for this meeting would be David Kaplan and Dan Bolt. It should be noted that a change in the Bylaws will be put before the membership so that future meeting sites can be approved by the BoT more than one year out. Members will be encouraged to submit bids to host the annual meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:47 PM.