Theatre Survey

Volume 65 / Number 3 September 2024

American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)



EDITORIAL POLICY AND PRACTICES

Theatre Survey (ISSN 0040-5574) is chartered by the American Society for Theatre Research as a theatre history journal. Its theatrical and historical orientations are broadly conceived. Performance-centered and historiographic studies from all points across the historical, cultural, and methodological spectra are welcome.

Articles should be submitted in electronic format only (Microsoft Word document). Manuscripts of twenty-five to forty pages in length, standard type (Times New Roman or the like), paginated lower center and double-spaced throughout, including endnotes, should be prepared according to the *Chicago Manual of Style*, 16th ed. Titles of books and journals cited should be italicized and bold fonts avoided. Contributors are responsible for obtaining permission and paying costs to reproduce any materials, including illustrations, for which they do not hold the copyright.

Articles can be submitted to *Theatre Survey* through the following website: http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/theatresurvey

Correspondence concerning articles should be addressed to: Dr. La Donna L. Forsgren, Editor, THEATRE SURVEY, 100 Performing Arts Center, 230C DPAC, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556-4600 USA; lforsgre@nd.edu

Correspondence concerning book reviews should be addressed to: Dr. Chrystyna Dail, 953 Danby Rd, Dillingham Center 004g, Ithaca, NY 14850-7000 USA; cdail@ithaca.edu

Subscription Information: Theatre Survey is published three times a year, in January, May, and September, by Cambridge University Press, One Liberty Plaza, New York, NY 10006 / Cambridge University Press and Assessment, Journals Fulfillment Department, UPH, Shaftesbury Road, Cambridge CB2 8BS, UK and is one of the benefits of membership in ASTR. Annual institutional subscription rates for Volume 65, 2024 (USA, Canada, and Mexico/elsewhere): print and electronic, US\$395/£242; electronic only, US\$279/£169; print only, US\$410/£249. Prices include postage and insurance. Theatre Survey and all other Cambridge journals can be found at http://journals.cambridge.org/

© The American Society for Theatre Research, Inc. 2024. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means, photocopying, electronic, or otherwise, without permission in writing from Cambridge University Press. Policies, request forms, and contacts are available at http://www.cambridge.org/permissions/permissions.htm

Permission to copy (for users in the USA) is available from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), http://www.copyright.com, email: info@copyright.com

Forwarding and return postage guaranteed, address correction requested. *Postmaster:* Send address changes in the USA and Canada to *Theatre Survey*, Cambridge University Press, Journals Fulfillment Dept., One Liberty Plaza, New York, NY 10006. Send address changes elsewhere to *Theatre Survey*, Cambridge University Press, Journals Fulfillment Department, UPH, Shaftesbury Road, Cambridge CB2 8BS, UK.

COVER: Dancers Edgar Aguirre and Juan L. Ruiz perform "Samba Para Elvis," choreographed by Alfonso Cervera. *Photo*: © Marisa Aragona—marisaaragona.com.

Theatre Survey

THE JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR THEATRE RESEARCH FOUNDED IN 1960

EDITOR La Donna L. Forsgren

Associate Editor Telory D. Arendell BOOK REVIEW EDITOR Chrystyna Dail

COPY EDITOR Michael Gnat

Editorial Board

Sukanya Chakrabarti, San José State University (2024 and 2025) Dorothy Chansky, Texas Tech University (2023 and 2024) Aparna Dharwadker, University of Wisconsin–Madison (2023 and 2024) John Fletcher, Louisiana State University (2023 and 2024) James M. Harding, University of Maryland (2023 and 2024) Christopher Herr, Missouri State University (2024 and 2025) Reginald Jackson, University of Michigan (2023 and 2024) Lisa Jackson-Schebetta, Skidmore College (2023 and 2024) Khalid Y. Long, Howard University (2024 and 2025) Stefka Mihaylova, University of Washington (2024 and 2025) Jessica Nakamura, University of California-Santa Barbara (2023 and 2024) Shane Vogel, Yale University (2023 and 2024)

	Past Editors
Brandi Wilkins Catanese	Catherine M. Cole
Marlis Schweitzer	Martin Puchner
Nicholas Ridout	Jody Enders
Harvey Young	James M. Harding
Esther Kim Lee	Rosemarie K. Bank
Leo Cabranes-Grant	Gary Jay Williams

Barry Witham Michael L. Ouinn Judith Milhous Roger W. Herzel Attilio Favorini Ralph G. Allen

Alan S. Downer, Founding Editor

THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR THEATRE RESEARCH

The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a US-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary.

ASTR was founded in 1956 to encourage theatre scholarship and to provide a link with other similar groups represented in the International Federation for Theatre Research (IFTR/FIRT). Its name was adopted to distinguish it from the Society for Theatre Research, based in the United Kingdom.

In 1967, the American Society for Theatre Research was incorporated under the laws of New Jersey as a nonprofit corporation, and it is the only theatre organization in the United States affiliated with the IFTR/FIRT. The ASTR Annual Meeting occurs in the fall of each year.

Theatre Survey, the official journal of ASTR, is published three times a year, in January, May, and September, and is one of the benefits of membership in the Society. ASTR annual dues for North Americans are \$155.00 for individual members, \$75.00 for retired members, \$60.00 for students, and \$105.00 for contingent faculty. The membership cycle renews each August. There is also a new lifetime membership for \$2,000.00. Overseas members pay an additional \$7.50 in each of the above categories. Inquiries about ASTR, including membership should be directed to:

The American Society for Theatre Research P.O. Box 922 Santa Cruz, CA 95061

OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF ASTR

Jimmy A. Noriega (President, 2021-4)

Noe Montez (Vice President for Publications, 2022–5)
Laura MacDonald (Vice President for Conferences, 2021–4)
Kate Bredeson (Vice President for Awards, 2023–6)
Eric Glover (Secretary, 2023–6)
Lisa Jackson-Schebetta (Treasurer, 2023–6)

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Michelle Liu Carriger (2021–4)
Sukanya Chakrabarti (2022–5)
Laura Edmondson (2022–5)
Paola S. Hernández (2022–5)
Khalid Long (2023–6)
Angela Marino (2021–4)
Eric Mayer-García (2023–6)
Lilian Mengesha (2021–4)
Rhaisa Williams (2023–6)
Jonah Winn-Lenetsky (2021–4)
Amanda Marie Rogus (Graduate Student Representative, 2023–4)

Theatre Survey

The Journal of the American Society for Theatre Research Founded in 1960

Volume 65, Number 3

September 2024

TABLE OF CONTENTS

From the Editor	
Movement Theatre, by Telory D. Arendell	153
Call for Papers	
Archiving: Who, Why, What, and How Do We (Re)member?	156
Articles	
Karen Jean Martinson and Julia E. Chacón Crossing Collaborative Borders: The Making and Becoming of ÓRALE! by David Herrera Performance Company and El Vez, the Mexican Elvis	158
Janice Norwood Stage Echoes: Tracing the Pantomime Harlequinade through Comic Ballet, Trap Work, and Silent Film	185
Jessica Friedman Recruiting Places: Pearl Primus's Plans for Global Activism through Community-Engaged Dance Theatre	208
S. Daniel Cullen The Constructive Deconstruction of Mary Overlie's Six Viewpoints	227