## Acknowledgements

Financial and logistical support for this Colloquium were provided by: the International Astronomical Union, the Basic Research Division of the State Science and Technology Commission of China, the Department of Mathematics and Physics of the Chinese Academy of Science, the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the State Education Commission of China, the Chinese Astronomical Society, Nanjing University, the European Southern Observatory, the Max-Planck Foundation of Germany, the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the American Astronomical Society, the US National Science Foundation, and the International Science Foundation.

The international scientific organizing committee consisted of: Richard McCray (JILA, University of Colorado), Zhenru Wang (Nanjing University), Roger Chevalier (University of Virginia), Alex Filippenko (University of California at Berkeley), Claes Fransson (Stockholm Observatory), Robert Kirshner (Harvard University), Kenichi Nomoto (University of Tokyo), and Joseph Wampler (European Southern Observatory).

The local organizing committee consisted of: Qu, Qin Yue (President, Nanjing University); Qi, Quan Rong (Director, Shan Xi Observatory); Lu, Ju Fu (Univ. Science & Technology, Hefei, China); Li, Tipei (Institute of High Energy Physics, China); Li, Zongwei (Beijing Normal University); Ma, Er (Beijing Observatory); Huang, Sixing (Nanjing University); and Yang, Tinggao (Shan Xi Observatory).

Mr. Li Zhangan and Ms. Wang Min Zhen were most helpful with travel arrangements. This Colloquium would not have been possible without the hard work and generous support of all these people and organizations.