Association News



Mentors honored by Women's Caucus for Political Science. First row (l. to r.): Betty H. Zisk, Sue Tolleson-Rinehart, Roberta Sigel, Carolyn Ban, Betty Glad, Elinor Ostrom, Mary Fainsod Katzenstein. Second row (l. to r.): Philip Burgess, Jeff Fishel, Susan J. Carroll, Anne N. Costain, Dale Rogers Marshall, Susan O'Connor, and Donald Stokes.

Jeff Fishel, American University Betty Glad, University of Illinois-Urbana M. Kent Jennings, University of California, Santa Barbara

Mary Fainsod Katzenstein, Cornell University Catherine Lovell, University of California, Riverside

Susan MacManus, University of South Florida
Dale Rogers Marshall, Wellesley College
John Brown Mason, California State University
Joyce Mitchell, University of Oregon
Betty Nesvold, San Diego State University
Karen O'Connor, Emory University
Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University
Mary Cornelia Porter, Barat College
Marie Provine, Syracuse University
Marie Rosenberg, Eastern Washington University

Roberta Sigel, Rutgers University
Donald Stokes, Princeton University
Sue Tolleson-Rinehart, Texas Tech University
Martha Whicker, Virginia Commonwealth
University

Betty H. Zisk, Boston University

Theodore J. Lowi Is APSA President-Elect

Theodore J. Lowi of Cornell University was elected president-elect of the APSA for 1989-90 and will assume the office of president in 1990-91. Lowi was elected by acclamation at the Annual APSA Business Meeting on September 2 in Atlanta, Georgia.

At the same meeting, Robert H. Bates, Duke University; Nannerl Keohane, Wellesley College; and Michael Preston, University of Southern California, were elected vice-presidents for 1989-90. M. Crawford Young, University of Wisconsin, was elected Secretary for 1989-90; and David Brady of Stanford University was elected Treasurer for 1989-91.

Eight new members of the 16-member Council were elected to serve a two-year term (1989-91): Charles Bullock, University of Georgia; Gregory Caldeira, Ohio State University; James A. Caporaso, University of Washington; Kay Lawson, San

Francisco State University; Michael Lipsky, MIT; Sandy Maisel, Colby College; Judith Stiehm, Florida International University; and Ronald Walters, Howard University.

Continuing their 1988-90 terms are: Christopher Achen, University of Chicago; Kathleen Frankovic, CBS News; Peter A. Gourevitch, University of California, San Diego; Ted Robert Gurr, University of Maryland, College Park; Ronald Kahn, Oberlin College; Barbara J. Nelson, University of Minnesota; Adolph Reed, Jr., Yale University; and Donald Searing, University of North Carolina.

Nominating Committee Welcomes Suggestions

APSA's Nominating Committee, chaired by Robert Keohane, Harvard University, seeks suggestions for nominees to APSA offices.

The Committee will make nominations for eight Council persons, as well as the offices of secretary, vice presidents (three positions) and president-elect. The Committee will meet in February in Washington and report to the President no later than April 15.

Members of the nominating committee

Lucius J. Barker, Department of Political Science, Washington University, St. Louis, MO 63130

Bernard C. Cohen, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Stephen Holmes, Department of Political Science, University of Chicago, 5828 South University Avenue, Chicago, IL 60637

Robert Keohane, Department of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138

Dale Rogers Marshall, Dean of the College, Wellesley College, Wellesley, MA 02138

Kay Schlozman, Department of Political



Theodore J. Lowi (r.) and David Brady participated in a program marking the Bicentennial of the U.S. Congress. The symposium was sponsored by the Council of Scholars of the Library of Congress.

Science, Boston College, Chestnut Hill, MA 02167-3807

APSA Presidents Honored

Eighteen of APSA's 28 living former presidents attended a dinner September 2 given by outgoing President Lucian W. Pye at the Atlanta annual meeting. This is the first time such an event was planned for former presidents; some had not met before the dinner.

Those attending and the year of their presidency:

Pendleton Herring—1952-53
R. Taylor Cole—1958-59
C. Herman Pritchett—1963-64
Gabriel Almond—1965-66
Karl W. Deutsch—1969-70
Heinz Eulau—1971-72
Robert E. Ward—1972-73
Avery Leiserson—1973-74
Austin Ranney—1974-75
James MacGregor Burns—1975-76
Samuel H. Beer—1976-77
John C. Wahlke—1977-78

December 1989 907