Association News

lic Service, University of Virginia, were honored by the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession at the annual meeting at the Washington Hilton. Both Puryear and Adams were the first two chairs of the committee when it was formed in 1969. They were recognized for their scholarship, leadership and mentorship. Matthew Holden, University of Virginia, and Michael Frazier, Howard University, discussed some of the many contributions of the two scholars.

Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State, chair of the Committee, made the presentations at the annual nightcap reception of the Committee.

Herring Honored for Print Collection

Pendleton Herring, president of the Association in 1952-53, was honored at a reception during the annual meeting for his generosity in donating to the Association over many years an impressive collection of political prints.

President Lowi presided at the ceremony where Herring presented the Association yet another print, "Canvassing for a Vote" by Bingham and the Association presented to Herring a plaque and a copy of the Hogarth print of "The Politician."



Theodore Lowi Accepts Print from Pendleton Herring.

The Pendleton Herring Print Collection, "Political Institutions and Behavior as Represented in Art," now contains about 50 pieces.

New APSA Officers Elected

APSA President Theodore J. Lowi presided at the Association's 1991 annual business meeting August 31, Washington, D.C., where new officers were elected.

Lucius J. Barker was elected president-elect; he will assume the office of the president in 1992-93. Elected to one-year terms as vice presidents are M. Margaret Conway, University of Florida; Wilson Carey McWilliams, Rutgers University; and Jane J. Mansbridge, Northwestern University.

Elected to a two-year term as Treasurer is James J. Caporaso, University of Washington, and to a oneyear term as secretary is Leon N. Lindberg, University of Washington. Eight new Council members were also elected for two-year terms: Susan C. Bourque, Smith College: Germaine A. Hoston, Johns Hopkins University; Richard W. Mansbach, Iowa State University; Gwendolyn Mink, University of California, Santa Cruz; Ronald Rogowski, University of California, Los Angeles; Nancy L. Rosenblum, Brown University; Martin Shefter, Cornell University; and Hanes Walton, Jr., Savannah



Lucius J. Barker

State College.

At the end of the meeting Lowi passed the gavel to James Q. Wilson to begin his term as president. Wilson has selected Jean Bethke Elshtain, Virginia Gray, Ronald Rogowski and Martin Shefter to join himself, Lucius Barker and James Caporaso on the Association's Administrative Committee.

Editor's Note: A list of all Association committees and their membership will appear in the March issue of PS.

Travel Grants for Foreign Scholars Attending Annual Meeting

Forty-nine foreign scholars and graduate students were the recipients of travel grants to attend the 1991 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Foreign graduate students attending U.S. universities were selected competitively and received travel money made available by the Huang Hsing Foundation, the Asia Foundation, and the APSA Council. More senior foreign scholars who had been invited to present papers at the Annual Meeting were also awarded travel funds by the APSA Council.

As part of an exchange between the APSA and the Japan Political Science Association, three Japanese political scientists attended the Annual Meeting and presented papers at a panel on Party, Electorate and Labor Policy in Japan Today, chaired by George O. Totten. The exchange program is supported by a grant to the APSA from the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission, and is now in its second year of operation.

A list of the foreign grantees and their affiliations follows.

762

International Grantees at Annual Meeting

meenacional Grances a	Annual Meeting			Ipation	-
Name	U.S. Affiliation	Country	in the	e 1991 A	PSA
HUANG HSING FOUND	ATION (4)		Meeti	ng	
Feng Chen	Syracuse	PRC		8	
Ting Gong	Syracuse	PRC	Martin	Gruberg	
Dali Yang	Princeton	PRC		ity of Wis	consin_O
Carl K. Y. Shaw	Iowa	Taiwan	Onivers		lonsin-O
ASIA FOUNDATION (21)				is the twen	
Subrata Dhar	Hawaii	Bangladesh	have rep	ported in <i>I</i>	PS on the
Rolin Mainuddin	Kansas	Bangladesh	ticipatio	ticipation balance at our m	
Andrew Mak	Texas A&M	Hong Kong	Truly w	Truly we've come a long w	
Junko Kato	Yale	Japan	-		•
Kyiung-Ho Cho	Georgia	Korea	Year	Total	Women
Young-Bae Hwang	Vanderbilt	Korea		Chair	persons
Ho-Won Jeong	Ohio State	Korea	10/13		-
Seong-Ho Joo	Penn State	Korea	1961 ^a	51	0
Ku-Pyo Lee	Illinois	Korea	1971 ^b	154	12
Seonghwa Lee	Purdue	Korea	1981 °	137	16
Mahnaz Fatima	N. Illinois	Pakistan	1990 ^d	487	106
Rashila Ramli	N. Arizona	Malaysia	1991	439	107
Weixing Chen	N. Illinois	PRC		Dana	Givers
Ming Gao	Washington	PRC		-	
Xiaoming Huang	USC	PRC	1961	85	2
Siang-giang Jian	Kent State	PRC	1971	552	43
Guoli Liu	SUNY-Buffalo	PRC	1981	520	98
Yu Lu	SUNY-Stony Brook	PRC	1990	2071	490
Li-Khan Chen	N. Texas	Taiwan	1991	1940	512
Chien-chung Yin	UCLA	Taiwan		Disc	
Rangsima Sirirangsi	N. Texas	Thailand			ussants
Kangsinia Sirirangsi	IN. TEXAS	Thanana	1 96 1	188	2
APSA COUNCIL GRANT	S (12)		1 97 1	184	13
Itty Abraham	Illinois	India	1981	161	28
Majeb Alhamwi	USC	Syria	1990	578	137
Napoleon Bamfo	Georgia	Ghana	1991	455	120
Ali Carkoglu	SUNY-Binghamton	Turkey			
Diva Dutt	Cincinnati	India		Schuck, "Fe	
Rachel K. Gibson	Texas A&M	Britain	licae: Notes on Her Professional ment." PS, Fall, 1990, p. 625.		
Christoph Hanterman	UC, Santa Barbara	Germany			
Arie Kacowicz	Princeton	Israel		nmer, 1979 (a	
Christopher Kirkey	Brandeis	Canada	was fema	Sapiro). One	of the 22 s
James R. Sellars	Wayne State	Canada			
Lars Skalnes	UCLA	Norway	_	f the 16 section	
Stewart Wood	Harvard	Britain		nd total inclu-	
				nized Section 5. Twelve of	
SENIOR SCHOLARS GRA				ections organ	
Zahoor Ahmed Awan	Clark Atlanta	Pakistan		e were wom	
Martin Bull	University of Salford	Britain		s of organize	
Weixing Guo	Harvard-Yenching	PRC	females.	0	P
Thomas Poguntke	Universität Mannheim	Germany			
Birgit Sauer	Frei Universität Berlin	Germany	1991	was the be	st year e
J. J. Seiler	UNIBO-South Africa	South Africa		as particip	•
Thierry Vedel	CEVIPOF, Fondation Nationale	France		of my ann	
ADEA IDEA EVOLANOT	E PROGRAM—VISITING JAPANESE	SCHOLY DE		ance of ha	
Junnosuke Masumi. The W		JUNULARJ		n role. Wh	
Sadafumi Kawata Hakkai			selection	i role. wh	ere wom

Year	Total	Women	07
	Chai	rpersons	
1 961 ª	51	0	0
19 71 ^b	154	12	7
1981°	137	16	11
1990 ^d	487	106	21
1991	439	107	24
	Раре	er Givers	
1961	85	2	2
1971	552	43	7
1981	520	98	18
1990	2071	490	23
1991	1940	512	26
	Disc	cussants	
1961	188	2	1
1971	184	13	7
1981	161	28	17
1990	578	137	23
1991	455	120	26
licae: No ment." <i>F</i> ^b <i>PS</i> , Sun Virginia & was fema ^c Three o ^d This gra tee, Orga tee panel heading s	tes on Her F PS, Fall, 199 nmer, 1979 (Sapiro). One le. f the 16 sect: and total inc nized Sectio s. Twelve of sections orga	Period Studens Professional Act 0, p. 625. article co-author of the 22 section ion heads were luded Program ns, and APSA the 31 section nized by the Pro- nen but only 3 compared by the Pro- pro-	hieve- ored wi on hea womer Comm person ogram

Participation by Women

as the best year ever for participants. The major my annual tallies is the ce of having women in a selection role. Where women headed sections or panels, there was a greater likelihood of other women being selected for program contributions. In 1991 11 of the 41 section persons were women (26.8%). The sections they headed had women as 32.7% (34 of 104) of the chairpersons, 30.2% (149 of 494) of the paper givers, and 33.3% (46 of 138) of the discussants.

The convention sections led by

Sadafumi Kawato, Hokkaido University

Ikuo Kume, Kobe University