III. Notes and News.

CINDER MOUNDS.—Mr. Beveridge draws our attention to a passage in Murray's Handbook, p. 224, col. 2, for the Panjab, where the writer (Mr. Eastwick) speaks of a place called Raiki-ke-Tibbī, fifty miles north-east of Bahāwalpur, where mounds of calcined bones and charcoal were excavated by Colonel Minchin in 1874. This, he thinks, might throw light on the cinder heaps concerning which Mr. Sewell published a paper in the Journal, Part I, for 1899.

International Congress on the History of Religions.—This will be held at the Sorbonne in Paris, under the presidency of M. Albert Réville, from the 3rd to the 9th of September, 1900. The subscription is 10 francs, and the address of the Secretariat is the Sorbonne. The program, which can be seen at our office, is most interesting; and we trust that the Congress may receive the support of as many of our members as possible.

Royal Asiatic Society.

GOLD MEDAL FUND.

In 1897 the Council of the Royal Asiatic Society established a Jubilee Gold Medal, to be awarded every third year, as an encouragement to Oriental learning amongst English-speaking people throughout the world; and to meet the expense contributions were invited from those interested in the scheme.

A beautiful design was prepared, and dies engraved, by Mr. Pinches; the first Medal was awarded, on the report of a Committee of Selection, to Professor Cowell, and was presented to him by Lord Reay at a Special General Meeting of the Society, the proceedings of which will be

found reported in the Journal for July, 1898.

The subscriptions (including interest on deposits) amounted to £330 16s. 10d., and the disbursements (including cost of die) to £69 5s. 10d., leaving a balance of £261 11s. 0d., of which sum £215 6s. 0d. was expended in the purchase of £200 Nottingham Corporation 3 per cent. Irredeemable Stock (a Trustee Stock), and there is therefore a balance in hand of £46 5s. 0d. The amount invested forms the nucleus of an Endowment Fund; but as it is estimated that the cost of providing a Medal will amount to upwards of £24, and as it is to be given every third year, the annual income required will be about £8. To produce this another £100 Stock must be purchased, after providing the Medal for the present year. The deficiency is therefore about £90.

It is hoped that this amount will be forthcoming during the next few months, so that on the presentation of the Medal in the Summer of 1900 it may be announced that the

entire sum has been raised.

Contributions, which will be acknowledged in the Society's Journal, will be received by the Secretary, or the Chairman of the Committee of the Medal Fund.

A. N. WOLLASTON,

Chairman of Committee.

ROYAL ASIATIC SOCIETY, 22, ALBEMARLE STREET, LONDON. April, 1900.

FIRST LIST OF SUBSCRIPTIONS.

	£	s .	đ.	1	£	s.	đ.
Mr. F. F. Arbuthnot	2	0	0	Mr. R. Lillev	1	0	0
Mr. B. H. Baden-Powell	ī	ĭ	ŏ	Mr. R. Lilley Mr. W. McDouall	1	0	0
Mons. A. Barth	ĩ	ō	ŏ	Professor D. Margoliouth	1	1	0
Professor Bendall	ĩ	ĭ	Ŏ	Mr. C. J. Marzetti	1	1	0
Mr. H. Beveridge	1	ī	Ō	Prof. Barbier de Meynard	1	0	0
Mr. E. L. Brandreth	1	ī	0	Mr. F. D. Mocatta	5	0	0
Mr. E. G. Browne	ī	1	ō	Sir M. Monier-Williams	2	0	0
Mr. R. Burn	1	1	Ô	Sir William Muir	3	0	0
Dr. O. Codrington	1	1	Û	Professor F. Max Müller	2	0	0
Professor E. B. Cowell	5	0	0	Mr. R. A. E. Neil	1	1	0
Dr. R. N. Cust	1	1	0	Mrs. Plimmer	5	0	0
Professor Donner	1	1	0	Mr. W. J. Prendergast	0	5	0
Sir M. E. Grant Duff	4	0	0	The President, Lord Reay	5	0	0
Mr. J. F. Fleet	1	0	0	The Marquess of Ripon	2	0	0
Mr. R. W. Frazer	1	1	0	Mr. J. G. Scott	2	2	0
Dr. M. Gaster	1	1	0	Mons, Émile Senart	2	0	0
Captain Gerini	1	1	0	Mr. R. Sewell	1	1	0
Mr. E. J. W. Gibb	1	1	0	Mr. C. H. Tawney	1	1	0
Mrs. Gibson	1	1	0	Colonel R. C. Temple	2	2	0
Sir Frederick Goldsmid	1	1	0	Colonel R. C. Temple Dr. T. H. Thornton	1	1	0
Major-General Gosset	1	1	0	His Highness the Mahārāja			
Mr. R. Griffith	1	1	0	of Travancore	5	0	0
Mr. R. Heap	1	1	0	Mr. Devchand Uttamchand	1	1	0
Sir W. Wilson Hunter	3	3	0	Mr. M. J. Walhouse	1	1	0
Mr. W. Irvine	1	1	0	Mr. T. Watters	1	1	0
Mr. H. C. Kay	2	12	6	Sir Raymond West	3	0	0
Mr. J. Kennedy	1	1	0	Mr. E. H. Whinfield	2	2	0
His Highness Kerala Varma Mr. F. W. Lawrence	2	0	0	Mr. A. N. Wollaston	1	1	0
	1	1	0	· ·			_
Dr. G. W. Leitner	1	1	0	£1	00	0	6
Mr. Guy Le Strange	1	1	0				
Mrs. Lewis	1	1	0				_
SECOND I	118	3T	OF	SUBSCRIPTIONS.			
					•		,
36 A3.3	£		d.	M. T	£	8.	d.
Mr. Abdullah ibn Yusuf Ali			0	Mrs. Lewis (2nd don.)	2	2	0
Mr. H. J. Allen			0	Mr. W. Lupton	1	1	0
Mons. A. Barth (2nd don.)	1	0	0 :	Professor D. Margoliouth			

Mons. A. Barth (2nd don.)	1	0	0
Dr. J. Burgess	1	10	0
Mr. W. C. Capper	1	1	0
Professor Donner (2nd don.)	2	0	0
Dr. Duka	1	1	0
General Forlong	1	1	0
Mr. F. L. Goldsmid	1	10	0
Major-General Gosset (2nd			
don.)	5	0	0
Dr. G. Grierson	1	1	0
Mrs. B. H. Hodgson		2	0
Mr. W. Irvine (2nd don.)	2	2	0
Major-General Jago Tre-			
lawney	1	1	0
Mr. A. M. T. Jackson	5	0	0
His Highness Kerala Varma			
(Ond don)	0	Δ.	^

(2nd don.) 2 0

	£	8.	đ.
Mrs. Lewis (2nd don.)	2	2	0
Mr. W. Lupton	1	1	0
Professor D. Margoliouth			
(2nd don.)	10	0	0
Mr. F. D. Mocatta (2nddon.)	3	0	0
Mr. Lewis Rice	1	1	0
Mrs. Rylands	2	2	0
Professor E. Schrader	1	1	0
Dr. M. A. Stein	1	1	0
Mr. C. H. Tawney (2nd don.)	1	1	0
The Rev. Dr. Taylor	1	1	0
Mr. G. W. Thatcher	1	1	0
Professor Tiele	1	0	0
Mr. T. Watters (2nd don.)	1	1	0
Mr. A. N. Wollaston (2nd don.) 1	1	0
•			

£57 4 0

THIRD LIST OF SUBSCRIPTIONS.

4	. s.	đ.	1	£	s.	đ.
Anonymous per Mr. Wollaston		0 0	Mr. W. Morrison I		ö	0
Anonymous per Mr. Wollaston	i	ĺ		ì	ì	ŏ
Mr. E. L. Brandreth (2nd	•			ī	ī	Ō
	2 9	2 0		$\bar{2}$	2	ō
		iŏ	Lord Northbrook	5	0	0
		iŏ	Hon. Sir Stafford Northcote	2	2	ō
		iŏ	Dr. Pfungst	$\bar{2}$	ō	0
		i õ	Dr. Pfungst Sir E. C. Ross	ī	Ō	Ò
Rt. Hon. Lord Curzon (Viceroy	•		Mr. P. J. Rowlands	ī	1	0
	5 (0 (Mrs. Rylands (2nd don.)	$\bar{2}$	$\bar{2}$	ŏ
		0	Professor Sachan	ī	ō	0
		0 0	Professor Sachau Messrs. Sampson, Low,	-	•	•
Sir Joseph Fayrer		i o	Marston, & Co	5	0	0
Captain Gerini (2nd don.)				1		ŏ
Professor de Goeje				î	ī	0
Dr. Grierson (2nd don.)				î	î	ō
Messrs. Grindlay & Co				$\dot{\tilde{5}}$	ō	ŏ
The Right Hon. Lord George	, ,	, ,	Sir R Strachev	1	ĭ	ŏ
Hamilton (Sec. of State			Sir R. Strachey Rt. Rev. Sumangala (High	•	•	v
for India)	5 (0 (Priest of Ceylon)	2	2	0
		žŏ	Major Sylves	ĩ	ĩ	ŏ
Captain Hatfeild	[]			2	$\hat{2}$	Ö
		1 0	Mr. C. H. Tawney (3rd don.)	ĩ	1	ŏ
Sir Joseph Hooker			Roy Dr. Toylor (2nd don)	i	1	ŏ
Sir W. Wilson Hunter (2nd		. 0	1	1	î	ŏ
	3 8	3 0	Mr. F. W. Thomas	ì	ì	ŏ
		3 0 L 0		2	2	0
				$\frac{2}{2}$	0	0
Sin A Zamball		2 0	Mr. T. Wottom (2nd don)	1	1	0
		-	Mr. T. Watters (3rd don.)	1		Ö
Professor Kern		0 0	Professor Weber Lord Wenlock	Ţ	$\frac{1}{2}$	
Professor Kielhorn			Sin Daymond West (2nddon)	2	0	0
Messrs. H. S. King & Co.		0 2	Sir Raymond West (2nd don.) Mr. W. F. A. Wilson	Ţ		0
The Rev. G. A. Langdale	2	2 0			1	0
Mr. F. W. Lawrence (2nd	. ,		Mr.A. N. Wollaston (3rddon.)			0
don.)	l I			1	1	0
Mr. G. Le Strange (2nd don.) Mr. C. J. Marzetti (2nd don.)		0 (Mr. R. A. Yerburgh	2	2	0
Mr. C. J. Marzetti (2nd don.)	L 1	1 0			_	_
Mr. F. D. Mocatta (3rd don.)		0	£13	37	9	0
Mr. H. Morris	[]	. 0			-	_
FOURTH L	ISI	0.	F SUBSCRIPTIONS.			
	٠.	J		o		J
Anonymous			:	£	8.	d.
	1 :	2 0	Rev. G. A. Langdale (2nd	0	0	^
H.H. Sultan Muhammad			don.)	2	2	0
	1	1 0		1	1	0
Mr. F. F. Arbuthnot (2nd				1	0	0
		0 0		1	1	0
Mr. Dhinibhan Danisi		l 0		1	0	0
Mr. Dhimjibhoy Bomanji	5 6	5 0		1	1	0
Mr. E. G. Browne (2nd don.)	1 1	0 1		1	1	0
Dr. R. N. Cust (3rd don.)	1 (0 0	Mr. A. N. Wollaston (4th	~		_
Mr. G. W. Forrest		1 0		5		0
Dr. Gaster (2nd don.)			Mr. G. W. Wollaston		1	0
Mr. H. C. Kay (3rd don.) His Highness Kerala Varma	1 (0	Miss Wood	1	1	0
His Highness Kerala Varma			-			_
(3rd don.)	1 (0	£3	12	0	0